The final 2013 NCAA FCS polls have been released and the Fordham University Rams finished the season ranked ninth in the NCAA FCS Sports Network poll and tenth in the NCAA FCS Coaches Poll. This is the highest ranking ever for the Rams at the end of the year (the previous best was 12th following the 2002 season).

The Rams enjoyed one of the most successful seasons in Fordham history, going 12-2 this fall, winning the first ten games of the year for the first time in school history and being ranked as high as fifth in the NCAA FCS polls, Fordham’s highest ever ranking on the FCS level. Along the way, the team compiled a long list of firsts, including the first win over an NCAA FBS team (Temple), the first win over a top-ten ranked NCAA FCS team on Jack Coffey Field (Villanova), the school’s first ever home NCAA FCS championship win on Jack Coffey Field (Sacred Heart) and the most nonconference wins in a season (six).

Along with the team success came a plethora of individual accolades as junior wide receiver Sam Ajala, junior linebacker Stephen Hodge, junior tight end Dan Light and junior quarterback Mike Nebrich all received All-America honors. The four also earned First Team All-Patriot League accolades, along with senior defensive lineman Brett Biestek, senior offensive lineman Thomas Fisher, senior running back Carlton Koonce, senior defensive lineman DeAndre Slate, senior defensive back Ian Williams, junior offensive lineman Mason Halter and junior placekicker Michael Marando. Nebrich and Hodge were also named Patriot League Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively.

Head coach Joe Moorhead was also honored, being named the AFCA Regional Co-Coach of the Year and Patriot League Coach of the Year as well as one of five finalists for the NCAA FCS Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year award.

– Joe DiBari