This weekend, Fordham University noted the death of Former Philippine President Corazon Aquino: University Mourns Philippine Leader.

The University has bestowed honorary degrees upon at least three Philippine presidents since the Republic of the Philippines was formed in 1946: President Maria Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo received an honorary doctorate of laws from the University in 2003, and her father, President Diosdado Macapagal, also received an honorary doctorate of laws on Oct. 9, 1964. Corazon Aquino was awarded an honorary degree in 1986.